Phytolinc

Name: Phytolinc
Product: Photobioreactor, Aquaponics system
Industry sector: Microalgae Production, Aquaculture
Website: www.phytolinc.com
Founders: Arne Maercker, Dennis Prausse and Jan Zaabe

Microalgae – small organism, huge potential

Microalgae are small unicellular organisms (which among other things colour the garden pond green) and harbor a huge potential. They contain up to 60% protein, are rich in valuable Omega 3 & 6 fatty acids and vitamin B12. In addition, microalgae produce valuable pigments that are subsequently used in the cosmetics industry, for example.

A system for the production of microalga

We are developing a photobioreactor, a closed system for the production of microalgae. Currently, microalgae are mostly produced in long glass tubes. In these, the algae cells float freely, are supplied with CO2 and nutrients and illuminated from the outside. However, this process is inefficient because the dense algae culture limits the intensity of illumination and CO2 exchange. There are also microalgae species with valuable ingredients that do not grow in existing systems. The reason for this is the strong movement of water.

In our system, the microalgae grow on a hanging membrane, separated from the water. This enables a more efficient illumination because we reach the algae cells directly with light. CO2 exchange is also optimized. This enables us to achieve higher growth rates than current systems. In addition, we can reduce water consumption to 2 L per kg of microalgae. In comparison, one kg of grain requires more than 1,300 litres of water. This makes microalgae an extremely ecological raw material.

And last but not least, we are able to produce new algae species that cannot yet be bred industrially.

Microalgae aquaponics, the most ecological form of algae production

The best thing about our system is that we can connect our reactor directly to a shrimp or fish farm. We use the water and the contained nutrients for algae production. In this way, we treat the water, then return it to the animals and obtain high-quality algae biomass. This can either be fed directly or used for other purposes.

Interested in a great start-up with an ecological product?

Visit us at www.phytolinc.com or write to us at info@phytolinc.com. We are happy about mails and energetic support!

Phytolinc

Produkt: Photobioreaktor, Aquaponiksystem
Branche: Mikroalgenproduktion, Aquakultur
Website: www.phytolinc.com
Team-Mitglieder: Arne Maercker, Dennis Prausse und Jan Zaabe

Mikroalgen – kleiner Organismus, riesiges Potential

Mikroalgen sind kleine einzellige Organismen (die u.a. den Gartenteich grün färben) und ein riesiges Potential beherbergen. Sie beinhalten bis zu 60% Protein, sind reich an wertvollen Omega 3 & 6-Fettsäuren sowie Vitamin B12. Zudem produzieren Mikroalgen wertvolle Pigmente, die anschließend in bspw. der Kosmetikindustrie zum Einsatz kommen.

Ein System zur Produktion von Mikroalgen

Wir entwickeln einen Photobioreaktor, ein geschlossenes System zur Produktion von Mikroalgen. Momentan werden Mikroalgen zumeist in langen Glasröhren produziert. In diesen schwimmen die Algenzellen frei, werden mit CO2 und Nährstoffen versorgt und von außen beleuchtet. Dieses Verfahren ist jedoch ineffizient, da Beleuchtungsintensivität und CO2-Austausch durch die dichte Algenkultur eingeschränkt sind. Zudem gibt es Mikroalgen-Arten mit wertvollen Inhaltsstoffen, die in bestehenden Systemen nicht wachsen. Grund sind die starken Wasserbewegungen.

In unserem System wachsen die Mikroalgen auf einer hängenden Membran, getrennt vom Wasser. Dies ermöglicht eine effizientere Beleuchtung, da wir die Algenzellen direkt mit Licht erreichen. Zudem ist der CO2-Austausch optimiert. Dadurch erzielen wir höhere Wachstumsraten als aktuelle Systeme. Zusätzlich können wir den Wasserverbrauch auf 2 L pro kg Mikroalgen senken. Im Vergleich, für ein kg Getreide werden über 1.300 L Wasser benötigt. Das macht Mikroalgen zu einem äußerst ökologischen Rohstoff.

Und zu guter Letzt sind wir in der Lage, neue Algenarten zu produzieren, die industriell bisher nicht gezüchtet werden können.

Mikroalgen-Aquaponik, die ökologischste Form der Algenproduktion

Das Beste an unserem System, wir können unseren Reaktor direkt an eine Garnelen- oder Fischzucht anschließen. Dabei nutzen wir das Wasser und die enthaltenen Nährstoffe zur Algenproduktion. Dadurch bereiten wir das Wasser auf, leiten es anschließend zurück zu den Tieren und erhalten hochwertige Algenbiomasse. Diese kann entweder direkt verfüttert oder anderweitig verwendet werden.

Interesse an einem tollen Start-Up mit einem ökologischen Produkt?

Besucht uns auf www.phytolinc.com oder schreibt uns an info@phytolinc.com. Wir freuen uns, über Mails und tatkräftige Unterstützung!