Algenfels

Product: Algae Gin, Algae Shots
Industry: Functional Food
Website: www.algenfels.de
Team members: Arne Maercker, Dennis Prausse, Jan Zaabe, Laurids Maercker und Constanze Hübner

ALGENFELS and the multi-talented microalgae

At Algenfels everything revolves around microalgae and the sensible Utilization of these unicellular organisms. Microalgae are not about the algae that bug you on the beach in the summertime. Microalgae are microscopically small, unicellular organisms that have an enormously high potential of nutrients and ingredients. One Microalgae species is the so-called „Chlorella vulgaris“. The Chlorella algae contains substances essential for humans, such as Vitamin B12 and unsaturated fatty acids. It is also very rich in Proteins. In times of overpopulation, overfishing and the accompanying need for alternative, richer and preferably plant food sources, we consider microalgae to be one of the most leading and trend-setting food.

Our Products

Our first product is ALGENFELS Gin. Probably the first gin with microalgae, in which the microalgae „Chlorella vulgaris“ is used as a main botanical in the burning process. It is not only used in the distillation process, but can also be added in powder form when creating your drink. The result is a delicious summer drink. To live up to the already mentioned advantages of microalgae in the food sector, our next product will be a (non-alcoholic) vitamin B12 shot. It covers the daily vitamin-B12 requirement of an adult and is also vegan. However, this should not remain our only product! Our goal is to bring so-called functional food and algae-based lifestyle products to the grocery stores so that everyone can benefit from the excellent qualities of microalgae.

The Story behind ALGENFELS

The idea to create a gin arose from our partner startup Phytolinc, which is also represented by GATEWAY Start-up service. Besides the optimal production of valuable microalgae species, Phytolinc is constantly working on innovative products from the exciting unicellular organisms. The ALGENFELS Gin was initially only intended as a Christmas present for partners, supporters and friends. However, the idea of making microalgae accessible to the general public as a sustainable food source quickly developed.

Curious?

All current information about Algenfels is of course also available on our Facebook-Page – have a look in and always be up to date!

Algenfels

Produkt: Algen Gin, in kürze auch Algen Shot
Branche: Lebensmittel / Functional Food
Website: www.algenfels.de
Team-Mitglieder: Arne Maercker, Dennis Prausse, Jan Zaabe, Laurids Maercker und Constanze Hübner

ALGENFELS und das Multitalent Mikroalge

Bei Algenfels dreht sich alles um Mikroalgen sowie die sinnvolle Nutzung dieser pflanzlichen Einzeller. Bei Mikroalgen handelt es sich nicht um die Algen, die dich im Sommerurlaub am Strand nerven. Mikroalgen sind mikroskopisch kleine, pflanzliche Einzeller, die ein enorm hohes Potenzial an Nähr- und Inhaltsstoffen aufweisen. Eine Mikroalgenart ist die sogennante „Chlorella vulgaris“. Die Chlorella-Alge enthält für den Menschen essentielle Stoffe, wie Vitamin-B12 und ungesättigte Fettsäuren. Zudem ist sie sehr reich an Proteinen. In Zeiten von Überbevölkerung, Überfischung und damit einhergehender Notwendigkeit alternativer, reichhaltiger und vor allem pflanzlicher Nahrungsmittelquellen halten wir Mikroalgen für eines der führenden und zukunftsweisenden Lebensmittel.

Unsere Produkte

Unser erstes Produkt ist der ALGENFELS Gin. Der wahrscheinlich erste Gin mit Mikroalgen bei dem die Mikroalge „Chlorella vulgaris“ als ein Hauptbotanical im Brennprozess eingesetzt wird. Nicht nur bei der Destillation wird sie verwendet, sondern kann auch in Pulverform bei der Kreation deines Drinks beigefügt werden. Das Ergebnis ist ein leckerer Sommerdrink. Um den bereits erwähnten Vorteilen von Mikroalgen im Lebensmittelbereich gerecht zu werden, wird unser nächstes Produkt ein (alkoholfreier) Vitamin-B12-Shot sein. Er deckt den täglich benötigten Vitamin-B12 Bedarf eines Erwachsenen und ist zudem vegan. Dies soll jedoch längst nicht unser einziges Produkt bleiben! Unser Ziel ist es, sogenannte Functional Food und algenbasierte Lifestyleprodukte in die Lebensmittelgeschäfte zu bringen, damit alle von den hervorragenden Qualitäten der Mikroalgen profitieren können.

Die Story hinter ALGENFELS

Die Idee einen Gin zu kreieren, ist aus unserem Partner-Startup Phytolinc entstanden, das ebenfalls im Gateway der Uni Köln vertreten ist. Neben der optimalen Produktion wertvoller Mikroalgenarten, beschäftigt sich Phytolinc laufend mit innovativen Produkten aus den spannenden Einzellern. Der ALGENFELS Gin war zunächst nur als Weihnachtsgeschenk für Partner, Unterstützer und Freunde gedacht. Schnell entwickelte sich daraus jedoch die Idee, Mikroalgen auch für die breite Masse als nachhaltige Lebensmittelquelle zugänglich zu machen.

Neugierig geworden?

Alles aktuellen Infos über Algenfels gibt es natürlich auch bei Facebook – schaut rein und seid immer up to date!